Explore Ros Muc
Ros Muc is a peninsula in central Connemara, surrounded by Camus Bay to the east and Kilkerrin Bay to the west. RosMuc means peninsula of rounded hills and (Muc/pig probably means a hog-backed hill ). It is estimated that people first settled in Ros Muc in 400, one hundred years before Naomh Briocán (Saint Briocán) brought Christianity to the area.
Patrick Pearse visited Ros Muc frequently between 1903 and his execution in 1916 as one of the leaders of the 1916 Rising. He built a cottage (now known as Pearse’s Cottage) there in 1910; it was burned by the Black and Tans after an IRA ambush in nearby Doire Bhanbh in 1921. It was later repaired, and is now a museum furnished as it was in Pearse’s Day. A modern interpretive centre as well as a cafe is now situated closer to the main road.
Ros Muc boasts two Irish colleges; Spleodar and Coláiste na bhFiann, students from all over the country attend the schools during the summer months to improve their Irish.