Showing 4 from 4 ItemsToggle Filters
Dun Aengus, the largest prehistoric stone fort of the Aran Islands, is one of Ireland’s most popular attractions. It is enclosed by three massive dry-stone walls made of blocks of limestone set vertically into the ground to deter attackers. The fort sits on a 300 ft cliff and offers the visitor spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. Excavations carried out in the 1990s indicated that the cliff tops had been inhabited from as early as c.1500 BC with the first walls and houses being built c. 1100 BC. An amazing network of defensive stones surrounds the whole structure.
Ionad Cultúrtha an Phiarsaigh, Conamara is located in Ros Muc, in the heart of the Connemara Gaeltacht, on the Wild Atlantic Way. It was here that Patrick Pearse, writer, educator and leader of the 1916 Rising built a cottage for himself on the shores of Loch Oiriúlach in 1909. The Visitor Centre houses a fascinating interactive exhibition dealing with Pearse’s legacy, and exploring the things that drew Pearse to Connemara, the area’s unique landscape and history, and the ancient gaelic culture and language which is still alive in the area today. 21st century Connemara, which maintain’s the traditions of the past, while looking to the future, is also celebrated. Visitors can take the short stroll from the Centre across the bog up to Pearse’s cottage itself, left just as it was when he departed for the final time in 1915, and meet the local guides who are steeped in Connemara’s vibrant culture. Visitors can also sample local delicacies at our café, and take a break from the road, which looking out on Connemara’s lakes and mountains.
Kylemore Abbey & Victorian Walled Gardens is the biggest attraction in the West of Ireland. The Abbey, an extraordinary example of Victorian architecture, was built on the shores of a lake in the heart of the 1,500 acre estate. There is a complimentary shuttle bus up to the six acre Victorian walled garden including a number of walks and trails and a spectacular mountain walk. The community of Benedictine nuns who arrived in 1920 offer visitors the opportunity to enjoy the peace and natural beauty of Kylemore. There is also a café, tea house and gift shop at Kylemore for visitors to enjoy.